26th November, 2014

Mahindra Adventure dominates at the K-1000 Rally in Bengaluru.

print 12
By Aminah Sheikh

When you’re part of a historic rally that is the oldest in the country and the third oldest in the world, one would want to stamp their authority as the best. At the K-1000 Rally, the fifth round of the Indian Rally Championship (IRC) in Bengaluru, team Mahindra Adventure were raring to clinch the Overall championship.


Piloting the Super XUV5OO through long straights of rough gravel surfaces, smooth flat sections, hair-pin curves and jumps, Sunny Sidhu took the lead on the first day over teammate Gaurav Gill and Amittrajit Ghosh. The flat out stages needed some serious commitment and focus from drivers. The day ended with Sunny leading by 2.2 seconds, followed by teammates Gaurav in second and Amittrajit Ghosh in third. On the second day, Gaurav with the aim of wanting to stamp his name in the history books Indian Motorsport, went all guns blazing and took the lead, thereby sealing the Indian Rally Championship 2014 for Mahindra Adventure. 


It is a first ever podium lockout for the team as Gaurav won the rally, followed by Sunny in second and Amittrajit finishing third, in their quest for Mahindra Adventures’ maiden IRC title.


Team Mahindra Adventure has rewritten the history books, by being the first ever diesel SUV to win the IRC title.

The Super XUV5OO proves its mettle, leaving the competition behind in a trail of dust.


As we sing, ‘We are the champions…’ we look forward to the season ender and final IRC round at Chikmaglur in mid-December.



1st - Gaurav Gill/Musa Sherif (Mahindra Adventure) (01hr:35min:32sec)

2nd - Sunny Sidhu/PV Srinivas Murthy (Mahindra Adventure) (01hr:36min:31sec)

3rd - Amittrajit Ghosh/Ashwin Naik (Mahindra Adventure) (01hr:38min:17sec)

print Comments
Wednesday, April 13, 2016 - 14:39
Wednesday, April 13, 2016 - 14:23
Wednesday, April 13, 2016 - 14:03
Wednesday, April 13, 2016 - 12:52


Download Wallpaper